Grant Announcement to support national or regional actions to reduce SLCPs

Grant Size: $10,000 to $100,000 Deadline: 31-Aug-2021

Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC) is seeking proposals for its Action Programme to Address the 1.5°C Challenge to support national or regional actions to reduce SLCPs.

The Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC) funds projects that advance action to reduce short-lived climate pollutants. The CCAC advertises funding opportunities through calls for proposals.

The science is clear: they need to slow the rate of warming as soon as possible in order to limit the dangerous and irreversible impacts of climate change. Achieving this will require all countries and actors to take ambitious action to reduce short-lived climate pollutant (SLCP) emissions as quickly as possible.

By focusing on actions that achieve both climate and clean air objectives, countries can help reduce the rate of near-term warming – which contributes to achieving the long-term Paris Agreement targets – while at the same time realizing immediate, local benefits for public health and supporting the attainment of many Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Areas of Work

  • Funding should be used in particular to support the goals of the Coalition as laid out in the new 2030 Strategy, following four mutually reinforcing areas of work:
    • Mobilize high-level political leadership with a national or regional focus
    • Target integrated climate and clean air policy
    • Drive transformative action in the main SLCP source sectors
    • Provide strong scientific and analytical support for action
  • The call is open to projects addressing a wide range of SLCP activities in a variety of economic sectors. However, all projects are encouraged to combine these three areas of work.

Funding Information

  • The Action Programme to Address the 1.5°C Challenge is launching a $1,000,000 call for proposals for projects that support national or regional actions to reduce SLCPs.
  • Projects can apply for a maximum of $US 100,000 in funding, should have a maximum duration of 24 months, and should be ready to launch by Q1 2022.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for consideration, projects must meet all of these conditions:

  • Applications must be submitted by or have the written endorsement of at least one national government eligible for official development assistance (ODA). Preference will be given to proposals submitted by or supporting one or multiple CCAC State Partners.
  • Applications must be submitted by a partnership of at least two entities actively involved in the implementation of the project.
  • The funding requested cannot be higher than $US 100,000 and the project duration cannot exceed 24 months.

Eligible Countries: Algeria Angola Argentina Australia Austria Bangladesh Belgium Benin Botswana Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Chile Colombia Comoros Congo (Brazzaville) Congo DR Costa Rica Cote DIvoire (Ivory Coast) Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominican Republic Egypt Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Finland France Gabon Gambia Germany Ghana Greece Guinea Guinea-Bissau Hungary India Iraq Ireland Israel Italy Japan Jordan Kenya South Korea Laos Latvia Lesotho Liberia Libya Lithuania Luxembourg Madagascar Malawi Maldives Mali Malta Mauritania Mauritius Mexico Moldova Republic Of Mongolia Morocco Mozambique Namibia Netherlands New Zealand Niger Nigeria Norway Pakistan Panama Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland Portugal Romania Russia Rwanda Sao Tome And Principe Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Slovak Republic Slovenia Somalia South Africa Spain Sudan Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Tanzania Thailand Togo Tunisia Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Viet Nam Zambia Zimbabwe South Sudan

For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NGO World News Subscribe to Grant / Funding, Jobs, EOI and other updates related to Non-Profit Sector