Nomination Open for the Aurora Prize

Deadline Date – 31-Oct-2021 Grant Size:  $500,000 to $1 million

The Aurora Humanitarian Initiative has announced the opening of the nomination period for the 2022 Aurora Prize for Awakening Humanity and called for putting forward inspiring humanitarians from across the globe.

The Aurora Prize for Awakening Humanity is a global humanitarian award, whose mission is to recognize and support those who risk their own lives, health or freedom to save the lives, health or freedom of others suffering as a result of violent conflict, atrocity crimes or other major human rights violations. 

Prize Details

The Aurora Prize Laureate is honored with a US $1,000,000 award and has the unique opportunity to continue the cycle of giving by nominating and supporting organizations that inspired their humanitarian action.

Eligibility Criteria

Any individual or groups that perform(s) an extraordinary act of humanity may be nominated to receive the Aurora Prize. The Aurora Prize Laureate is recognized for the exceptional impact their actions have made in preserving human life in the face of adversity, risking their health, freedom, reputation or livelihood.

Selection Criteria

Nominations are carefully vetted and reviewed through a rigorous process. The Laureate is determined by the Selection Committee based on the following criteria:

  • Courage
    • The extent to which the Nominee’s actions demonstrate:
      • Courage in helping others survive 
      • Having overcome significant risks for the sake of helping others survive 
      • Going beyond the call of duty of professional obligations for the sake of helping others survive 
  • Commitment 
    • The extent to which the Nominee’s actions demonstrate:
      • An explicit intention to help others survive 
      • A direct involvement in helping others survive 
      • A commitment to common moral values such as integrity, freedom, justice, honesty, truthfulness, responsibility and compassion 
  • Impact
    • The extent to which the Nominee’s actions demonstrate:
      • An impact on saving lives 
      • A long-term effect in saving lives 
      • Inspiration to others to save lives, directly or indirectly 
      • Saving lives of a large number of individuals 
  • Any members of the public, as well as members of national assemblies, governments, academic and other institutions, can nominate candidates for the Aurora Prize.

Eligible Countries: Afghanistan, Aland, Islands, Albania, Algeria American, Samoa, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antarctica, Antigua, and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia, And Herzegovina, Botswana, Bouvet, Island, Brazil, British, Indian, Ocean, Territory, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina, Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape, Verde, Cayman, Islands, Central, African, Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Christmas, Island, Cocos, (Keeling), Islands, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, (Brazzaville), Congo, DR, Cook, Islands, Costa, Rica Cote DIvoire (Ivory Coast) Croatia Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island And Mcdonald Islands Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras Hong Kong SAR Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle Of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati South Korea North Korea Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Macedonia Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Federated States Of Moldova Republic Of Monaco Mongolia Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Burma(Myanmar) Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands Netherlands Antilles New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Palestinian Territories Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena Saint Kitts And Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre And Miquelon Saint Vincent And The Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome And Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia And Montenegro Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovak Republic Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia And The South Sandwich Islands Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard And Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand East Timor (Timor-Leste) Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad And Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks And Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States United States Minor Outlying Islands Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Viet Nam British Virgin Islands United States Virgin Islands Wallis And Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe Montenegro Saint Barthélemy Serbia Kosovo South Sudan

For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NGO World News Subscribe to Grant / Funding, Jobs, EOI and other updates related to Non-Profit Sector