Nominations are now open for the Martin Ennals Award to nominate human rights defenders.

Deadline Date – 30-May-2021

The Martin Ennals Foundation provides support and protection to human rights defenders (HRDs) at risk, who have shown exceptional commitment to the promotion of human rights. Their ambition is to strengthen the legitimacy and recognition of all HRDs who work in hostile and dangerous environments. The Martin Ennals Foundation is guided by the universal principles of human rights. They are part of the global human rights movement ensuring fundamental rights for everyone, everywhere. Integrity, equity and respect for the dignity of all persons, are the cornerstones of their values.

The Martin Ennals Award is a unique collaboration between ten of the world’s leading human rights organizations, who form the independent Jury that selects winners of the Award.

The Martin Ennals Award (MEA) is an international Award given to human rights defenders in urgent need of protection. Many defenders who are nominated for the Award face serious risks – for example, they are in jail or at risk of detention; they have been prevented from carrying out their work by authorities or businesses, or they have disappeared.


All of the winners receive an important financial prize intended to support his or her work in the field of human rights.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Self-nominations for the MEA are not accepted. Human rights defenders or organizations can be nominated by a third party, as long as the motivation is substantiated and the candidate meets the MEA criteria, namely being a human rights defender at risk. Past Laureates include lawyers, journalists, civil society activists and even a Buddhist monk.
  • To qualify for the Award, the nominees must:
    • Be currently active in the promotion and protection of human rights
    • Not employ or advocate violence
    • Not be self-nominated
    • Be in need of protection
  • Post-humous nominations are not eligible.

Eligible Countries: Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia And Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo (Brazzaville) Congo DR Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote DIvoire (Ivory Coast) Croatia Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island And Mcdonald Islands Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras Hong Kong SAR Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland Isle Of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati South Korea North Korea Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Macedonia Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Micronesia Federated States Of Moldova Republic Of Monaco Mongolia Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Burma(Myanmar) Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands Netherlands Antilles New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Palestinian Territories Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Reunion Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Helena Saint Kitts And Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Pierre And Miquelon Saint Vincent And The Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome And Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia And Montenegro Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovak Republic Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia And The South Sandwich Islands Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard And Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand East Timor (Timor-Leste) Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad And Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks And Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States United States Minor Outlying Islands Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Viet Nam British Virgin Islands United States Virgin Islands Wallis And Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe Montenegro Saint Barthélemy Serbia Kosovo South Sudan

For more information, visit

NGOproposal | fundsforngos | grantopportunity | non-profit

#fundsforngos2021-22 #grants2021-22 #callforproposal 2021-22 #NGOs #Non-Profit #NGOfunds #grantopportunity #scholarship #Fellowship #NGOsector #Nonprofitsector

#funds_for_ngos_2021-22, #grants_2021-22, #call_for_proposal _2021-22, #NGOs, #Non-Profit, #NGO_World, #NGO_funds, #grant_opportunity, #scholarship, #Fellowship, #grants, #Newgrants,  #NGO_sector, #Non_profit_sector

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NGO World News Subscribe to Grant / Funding, Jobs, EOI and other updates related to Non-Profit Sector